close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Community News & Highlights

   Over $2.8 Million in Federal Assistance Awarded to Tennessee Residents after Spring Storms

Over $2.8 million in federal assistance has been awarded for homeowners and renters in Davidson, Williamson and Wilson counties to help them recover from the storms, tornadoes and flooding that took place from March 25 through April 3. The deadline to apply for federal disaster assistance is Wednesday, July 7.

The federal declaration on May 8 allows those affected by the spring storms in the designated counties to apply for disaster assistance for temporary rental assistance and basic repairs to make homes safe, accessible and secure. Survivors may be eligible to receive assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from the storms. FEMA cannot duplicate benefits.

So far, over $880,000 in FEMA grants has been awarded to individuals and households and over $1.98 million in low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration were provided to homeowners and renters. Loans may also be available to businesses of all sizes and some nonprofit organizations to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.

There are several ways to apply:

  • Download FEMA’s mobile app. For information, go to: gov/mobile-app.
  • Visit
  • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585). Multilingual operators are available, and lines are open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Central Time. Those who use a relay service such as a videophone, InnoCaption or CapTel should provide FEMA with their specific phone number assigned to that service.

For more information on an SBA loan, go to, call the SBA Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing), or send an e-mail to

For more information on Tennessee’s disaster recovery, visit and You may also follow FEMA on and Twitter @FEMARegion4.       

Resource Centers Open this Weekend to Help Individuals with March Flood Recovery
The Tennessee Emergency Management Agency is announcing the opening of three, Multi-Agency Recovery Centers this weekend in Davidson, Williamson, and Wilson counties to help residents impacted from the March 2021 flooding find recovery assistance and resources.

Representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, Tennessee Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration, and local agencies will be available at the MARCs to help individuals understand various disaster assistance programs, apply for disaster assistance, and find other programs where they may receive recovery help.

MARC locations and operational hours are as follows:

Davidson County: The Davidson County MARC will close Sat., May 29, through Mon., May 31, for Memorial Day.
Plaza Mariachi (Live Music Venue)
3955 Nolensville Pike, Nashville, TN 37211
Opens Sat., May 22, and closes Sun, June 6.

Hours of Operation:
9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Mon. through Fri.
10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Sat. and Sun.

Wilson County: Opens Sat., May 22 and closes Fri., May 28, depending on need
Wilson County School Administrative Training Center
415 Harding Dr., Lebanon, TN 37087

Hours of Operation:
9 a.m. to 6 p.m., daily, and Sat. and Sun.

Williamson County: Opens Sat., May 22, and closes Fri. May 28, depending on need
Grassland Middle School
2390 Hillsboro Road, Franklin, TN 37069

Hours of Operation:
9 a.m. to 6 p.m., daily, and Sat. and Sun.

The federal government granted a Major Disaster Declaration for Tennessee on May 8, 2021, for impacts from the severe storms and flooding from March 25, to April 3, 2021.

The Major Disaster Declaration will provide 23 counties with assistance to repair and replace infrastructure, and for emergency response measures.

The Major Disaster Declaration is also providing direct assistance to impacted individuals and households in Davidson, Williamson, and Wilson counties.

Individuals in Davidson, Williamson, and Wilson Counties can apply for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program in the following ways:
1. Apply online at
2. Call the application phone number at 1-800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585), 6 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. Central Time.

The severe weather across Tennessee in late March caused seven fatalities and disrupted power to 15,000 customers. Some areas of Middle Tennessee received between 7” and 9” of rainfall in a 24-hour-period, resulting in the worst flash flooding event since the Great Tennessee Flood of May 2010.

About the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency: TEMA’s mission is to coordinate preparedness, response and recovery from man-made, natural and technological hazards in a professional and efficient manner in concert with our stakeholders. Follow TEMA on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter, and, at


Apply for Disaster

Williamson County will receive federal recovery assistance under a Major Disaster Declaration as a result of the severe weather and flooding that occurred across the state from March 25 through April 3, 2021.

The Major Disaster Declaration will provide FEMA’s Individual Assistance program to impacted Williamson County individuals and households. The Major Disaster Declaration also allows Williamson County jurisdictions to seek reimbursement through FEMA’s Public Assistance program for emergency response measures and the repair and replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and infrastructure.

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are also available to businesses and residents in Tennessee. Residents and Businesses in the declared area can now apply for low-interest disaster loans from the SBA. Williamson County is eligible for both Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA. The fact sheet can be found here

Applying does not guarantee that financial assistance will be provided.

Individuals can apply for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program in the following ways:

  • Apply online at  
  • Call the application phone number at 1-800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585), 6 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. Central Time
    • Multilingual operators are available.

Residents and Businesses can apply for SBA disaster loans in the following ways: 

FEMA may soon open a Disaster Recovery Center in Williamson County to provide in-person application assistance for those who need it. If and when the center is created, more information will be provided from Williamson County Emergency Management.

For more information on FEMA’s Individual Assistance program, visit:

Additional Information:

If you have insurance, you should file a claim with your insurance company immediately. FEMA assistance cannot aid with losses already covered by insurance.

Public Assistance provides supplemental federal disaster grant assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and specific facilities of certain private nonprofit organizations. This assistance includes debris removal, repairs to publicly owned roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment utilities, and the restoration of public parks. This type of federal assistance can provide 75% reimbursement of eligible expenses which can oftentimes eliminate the need to increase taxes or invoke rate hikes to successfully recover from the event.

Individual Assistance can provide supplemental assistance to disaster survivors for unmet needs caused by a disaster. Support may include assistance for temporary housing and housing repairs, critical disaster-related expenses, the replacement of essential personal property, and funding to local governments for related program services.