Trees and Trails Committee

Trees and Trails logoThe Trees and Trails Committee is a volunteer committee comprised of members with a special interest in its goals to improve the quality of life in Nolensville through the development of a comprehensive Greenway system linking the town’s various neighborhoods, businesses, recreational and educational facilities, with an emphasis on preserving the integrity of creek areas. The benefits to the town from this work include:

  • Creating opportunities to walk and ride bikes for errands by connecting residential neighborhoods to important destinations like schools, the post office, banks, downtown businesses, restaurants, etc.
  • Increasing opportunities for socializing by having paths where one can “bump” into neighbors
  • Improving health by making places to walk and ride bikes, and by reducing the number of cars on the road
  • Creating opportunities to walk and ride bikes for errands by connecting residential neighborhoods to important destinations like schools, the post office, banks, downtown businesses, restaurants, etc.
  • Beautifying the town by adding tree cover
  • Decreasing energy costs through the cooling effects of trees
  • Making Nolensville one of Tennessee’s “greenest” towns
  • Enhancing business success in the Historic District by connecting residents of nearby subdivisions to this area through the trail system

The members bring a varied array of talent and professional experience to the tasks to Development of a Long‐range Trails Master Plan for Nolensville in cooperation with the town‐planning department, town officials, and interested community residents

  • Coordinate public education efforts concerning the multiple benefits of trees, and of walking and biking
  • Involve as many members of the community as possible in tree‐planting/trails development efforts to enhance a sense of community pride and ownership

The Trees and Trails Committee meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. at Town Hall.

Title Name Email
Co-chair Joyce Powers joyce.f.powers@comcast.net
  J. Tommy Jobe cppreacher@united.net
  Pat Painter pat_painter@comcast.net
  Chris Clark chris.clark@sca-nr.com
  Neil Letson neil.letson@gmail.com
Co-chair Kelley Crummitt kelleymcrummitt@gmail.com
  Jacquie Valentine jacquie.valentine@gmail.com
  Jana Truman jtruman@myartdepartment.net