Nolensville Board of Zoning Appeals
Nolensville Town Hall
July 11, 2013 - 7:00 p.m.

Members present:       Mayor Jimmy Alexander, Ken Rucker, Wade Wakefield and Tommy Dugger

Members absent:        None

Staff present:              Attorney Bob Notestine, Don Swartz and Suzanne Brown

Chairman, Ken Rucker, called the meeting to order at 7:00 and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Mayor Jimmy Alexander made a motion to approve the June 13th 2013 BZA minutes with corrections and Wade Wakefield seconded it.  Motion passed unanimously.

A.  Request for a variance to the required rear yard setback for a new construction home being proposed at 1818 Eaves Ct., Lot 1510, in Benington Subdivision.

J.R. Rollins with Barlow Builders presented the variance request for applicant, Austin Pennington.  Mr. Rollins stated Barlow Builders is requesting a 10 foot variance to the rear setback, changing it from a 30 foot setback to a 20 foot setback. In order for the proposed house to fit better on this lot, and in order to keep the continuity of the streetscape for front doors to be centered on the lots, and to alleviate the need for a basement which would keep the cost down for the potential buyer.

There was some discussion regarding placement of house and size of the lot.

Attorney Bob Notestine indicated the hardship in this case is an odd shaped lot.

Don Swartz, town engineer, pointed out that the Nolensville Zoning Ordinance established a 20 foot setback.  However, this lot came from a PUD in Williamson County which established a setback of 30 feet.

After further discussion discussion:

Commissioner, Wade Wakefield, made a motion to approve the variance based upon its shape and topography.

Commissioner, Tommy Dugger, seconded the motion.

Chairman Ken Rucker, stated that a motion has been made to grant the variance based upon the uniqueness of the property due to the shape and topography and the inability to place a house because of those dynamics.

Motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner, Ken Rucker, moved for adjournment.  Mayor Jimmy Alexander seconded the motion.

Chairman, Ken Rucker adjourned the meeting at 7:20.