Nolensville Planning Commission

Regular Meeting

April 13, 2010, 7:00 p.m.


Board Members Present:   Jimmy Alexander, Andy Grosson, Beth Lothers, Rick Owens, Douglas Radley, Jimmy Reaves and Chase Smith

Board Members Absent:    Bob Haines

Staff Present:  Attorney Bob Notestine, Don Swartz, Cathi Little, Bob Hayes and John Strasser

 Citizens Present:                11

The meeting was called to order at 7:07 p.m. by Chairman Rick Owens. 


The pledge of allegiance was led by Chairman Owens.


Commissioner Chase Smith made a motion to approve the minutes from March 9, 2010, Planning Commission Meeting.  Commissioner Jimmy Reaves seconded the motion.  The minutes were approved unanimously.






1.     Concept Plan and Preliminary Plat for Commercial Subdivision and Dollar General Store by Trace Development, L.L.C.

Chairman Owens asked if there was general approval of the concept plan, to which the concept plan was approved by unanimous acclamation.

Chairman Owens made a motion to approve the preliminary plat, with the condition that the area included in lot 3 shall be reserved and noted on the plat as open space.  Commissioner Jimmy Reaves seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

2.     Site Plan for new Dollar General Building on Nolensville Road by Nolensville Retail Partners, Developer

Chairman Owens made a motion to approve the site plan, with the condition that all storm water contingencies in Tom Allen’s April 5, 2010, memo are met.  Commissioner Doug Radley seconded.  The motion passed unanimously.

3.     Site Plan Revisions by Martin’s BBQ Restaurant to architectural design plans at Town Center Development, 7238 Nolensville Road

After much discussion, Commissioner Jimmy Reaves made a motion to approve the applicant’s acceptance of the Design Review Committee’s (DRC) recommendation of March 12, 2010, to add a nut and bolt combination to all 4 corners of the metal/iron inserts; and to make the HVAC screening an architectural feature per DRC’s recommendations, using option “C” (corten metal panels) as the screening material.  Commissioner Andy Grosson seconded the motion.  Upon a vote being taken the motion passed with six (6) Commissioners voting for, and Chairman Owens voting against. 

4.     Amendment to Sign regulations, Appendix A, Zoning Regulations, dealing with design standards and other changes

Mayor Lothers made a motion to defer this matter until next month, when the Town Planner, Henry Laird, can be present.  Chairman Owens seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.


  1. Report from last BOMA meeting.

There was nothing related to planning Commission to report.


6.     Specific Bond Actions –

       a.         Bent Creek P.U.D. Phase 5, Sec. 2, Performance Bond 1 Year Extension

       b.         Haley Industrial Park, Phase 4, Performance Bond Extension 6 months

       c.        Burkitt Place Subdivision, Phase 2F, Performance Bond 1 Year Extension

Commissioner Reaves recused himself from this item, as he is a member of the Board of the Bent Creek Home Owners Association.

Chairman Owens made a motion to approve 1 year bond extensions for items 6a and 6c, above; Bent Creek phase 5, section 2 and Burkitt Place phase 2f, Commissioner Smith seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously, with Commissioner Reaves being recused from this vote.

Chairman Owens made a motion to defer item 6b, above, Haley Industrial Park, Phase 4, until the May Planning Commission Meeting.  Commissioner Jimmy Alexander seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

  1. Bond Report as Amended

Chairman Owens made a motion to approve the bond report, as amended.  Commissioner Smith seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.


Mayor Lothers stated that the sign regulations training held in Murfreesboro was attended by several of the Board, BZA and Planning Commission members.  She further stated that it was very informative and helpful, and would like to get the notes from that meeting sent out to all the Commission members.


The meeting was adjourned at 8:21 p.m.





Robert D. Haines                                           Date

Planning Commission Secretary