Nolensville Planning Commission

Regular Meeting

December 8, 2009, 7:00 p.m.


 Board Members Present:    Jimmy Alexander, Andy Grosson, Bob Haines, Beth Lothers, Rick Owens, Douglas Radley, Willis Wells and Frank Wilson

Board Members Absent:     Jeff Hepler

Staff Present:                      Henry Laird, Attorney Bob Notestine, Cathi Little, Bob Hayes and John Strasser 

 Citizens Present:                 16

The meeting was called to order at 7:12 p.m. by Commissioner Willis Wells. 


The pledge of allegiance was led by Commissioner Wells.


Mayor Lothers made a motion to approve the minutes from the November 10, 2009, Planning Commission Meeting.  Commissioner Jimmy Alexander seconded the motion.  The minutes were approved unanimously.


Mayor Lothers announced that Commissioner Willis Wells and Commissioner Frank Wilson will be retiring from the Town of Nolensville Planning Commission.  Mayor Lothers thanked them for their many years of service to the Town and presented them with a letter and gift.

Chairman Rick Owens arrived at the meeting at 7:16 p.m.


Lynda Moses, 2230 Rocky Springs Rd., announced that there will be a meeting on Monday, December 14, 2009, at Jenkins Cumberland Presbyterian Church.  County Commissioner Lew Green will speak to the community regarding the old recreation center.

Dwight Barnett, Area Forester and Certified Arborist with the Dept. of Forestry.  Mr. Barnett would like to offer his services to the Planning Commission.  Mr. Barnett introduced Thomas Solinsky – Director of  Mr. Solinsky stated that they would like to institute a tree cost sharing project with residents of Nolensville.


1.     G.W. Jones rezoning request for property at 7047 Nolensville Road from SR/ABO to CR (Commercial Regional).

Planner Henry Laird stated that the applicant has requested to defer this item until the January 2010 Planning Commission Meeting. 

Commissioner Wilson made a motion to defer this item to the January 12, 2010, Planning Commission Meeting; Commissioner Wells seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.


2.     Report from last BOMA meeting included the following:

Public Hearing on 09-18 on rezoning McCord property ER to V/HDO.

Public Hearing on 09-19 on revising public notice in newspaper for certificate of appropriateness applications.

First Reading on 09-21 on amending impervious surface standards for non-residential uses permitted with conditions in SR and ER districts.    

Second Reading and final passage on 09-16 on rezoning Creekside at Nolensville (York Road area), ER to SR.

Second Reading and passage on 09-17 on revising adult business definitions.


3.     Bond Actions –

        a.     Burkitt Place Phase 2F – extend $7,000 landscape bond for 1 year.

b.     McFarlin Woods Section 3 – release from maintenance bond and acceptance by the Town.       

Chairman Owens made a motion to approve bond actions a and b above; Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion.  The Motion passed unanimously.

4.     Bond Report.

Commissioner Wilson made a motion to accept the bond report, as amended, Chairman Owens seconded the motion; which passed unanimously.


5.     Low impact development bus tour presentation by Bob Haines and Jimmy Alexander.

Commissioners Haines and Alexander had the opportunity to go on a LIDS (Low Impact Development) tour.  Commissioner Haines did a presentation on the different and unique methods being used to handle storm water runoff.

6.     A workshop will be held after meeting on sign regulations dealing with color and design standards for wall and freestanding signs.

 Mayor Lothers made an announcement that she met with Debra Warnick of the Williamson County Convention & Visitors Bureau regarding the Trails to Tourisim project for the State of Tennessee.  Nolensville will be included in one of the trails, which will include key businesses and historic locations.  She further stated that 75,000 pieces would be going to welcome centers and it will also be online.  The brochure will be published in March.


The meeting was adjourned at 8:02 p.m.


Robert D. Haines                                       

Planning Commission Secretary