2016-08 BZA Meeting Minutes

Nolensville Board of Zoning Appeals
Nolensville Town Hall
August 11, 2016 7:00 p.m.

Members Present: Mike Donoho, Tommy Dugger, Arthur Gay, Joan Lawler, and Wade Wakefield

Staff Present: Attorney Bob Notestine, Town Engineer Don Swartz,
 Town Planner Sarah Sitterle and Mayor Jimmy Alexander

Meeting Called to Order: Chairperson Joan Lawler at 7:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance:    Chairperson Joan Lawler

Approval of Minutes: Mike Donoho moved to approve minutes from the 5/12/16 BZA meeting as amended to reflect correct spelling of applicant.  It was seconded by Tommy Dugger.  Motion passed unanimously.

Announcements:  Chairperson Lawler introduced new BZA member Arthur “Trey” Gay

New Business:

1. Request for a variance at 7332, 7336, and 7340 Nolensville Rd. to allow for buildings in excess of the permitted maximum size of 4000 square feet in the historic district overlay.  Request is for the buildings to be 6,000 sq ft, 6,000 sq ft and 7,758 sq ft.

Joe Epps, P.E. with Anderson, Delk, Epp and Associates presented the case for the applicant, Fred Yazdian.

Epps stated that by zoning they could build a number of 4,000 sq ft buildings 6 feet apart.  But this is ineffective and leaves a strip of land in-between of no use. 

Attorney Bob Notestine commented that this was referred to the BZA from the Historical Zoning Committee for building size consideration.

Dugger commented that this will need to go back to the HZC for certificate of appropriateness.

Epps replied that they anticipated going first to the Planning Committee and then concurrent with the Design Review committee and Historic Zoning Committee.

Dugger moved to approve the variance request since no harm to public welfare and the location is at the edge of the Historic Village Overlay.  He said he would rather see a few larger buildings rather than 6 smaller buildings.  Mike Donoho seconded the motion.  Motion passed unanimously.

Chairperson Lawler asked for any further comments.

Town Engineer Don Swartz introduced Nolensville’s new Town Planner, Sarah Sitterle.

Chairperson Lawler adjourned the meeting at 7:21.

Minutes taken by Don Swartz.

Posted by Kali Mogul Thursday, August 11, 2016 3:38:00 PM